IMEX/GMIC Green Supplier Award winners; IMEX Group

The IMEX Academy Awards 2015 took place last night at the 13th annual IMEX Gala Dinner in Frankfurt. IMEX Group Chairman Ray Bloom and Managing Director Paul Flackett presented the awards to five people from around the globe for their outstanding service to the meetings and incentive travel industry. IMEX also presented its Green Supplier Award.

Other awards were presented leading trade associations at the gala event, part of the three-day IMEX convention in Frankfurt.

IMEX winners included:

Glen Byrom, founder of Twiice DMC Victoria Falls & Chobe dmc, representing the Africa Middle East region; he has more than 25 years experience delivering conferences and incentives.

Henrik von Arnold, adviser and consultant to the meeting industry who runs his own company in Vienna, representing Europe; he is former director of Goteborg Convention Bureau, former chair of the Scandinavian Chapter of ICCA and former board member of the European Federation of Conference Towns.

Rajeev Kohli, chairman and managing director of Creative Travel, representing the Asia Pacific region; he has served on numerous industry boards, is the founder of the Indian Association of Tour Operators and is currently president elect for SITE.

Judy Henrich, director of recruitment and industry relations for Global Cynergies, representing the Americas; she works with suppliers around the globe to develop programs that increase awareness, new business and market opportunities.

Amy Spatrisano received the award for Special Services, for her services to the “greening” of the meetings industry; she is former principal with MeetGreen, co-founder of the Green Meeting Industry Council, and chair of the APEX Green Meeting Practice Panel.

Marina Bay Sands in Singapore was awarded the IMEX/GMIC (Green Meeting Industry Council) Green Supplier Award. The award recognizes a meeting supplier that has made real advancements in reducing environmental impact. Marina Bay’s sustainability efforts have thus far resulted in a 9 percent reduction in energy consumption and an increased waste diversion rate to 28 percent from 7 percent in three years.

Industry awards went to:

Anzelle Vorstmann from North West University in South Africa, MPI Foundation Student Scholarship Award;

David Peckinpaugh, president of Maritz Travel and Experient, JMIC Unity Award 2014;

Andrew Dergousoffn, director of virtual conferences at International Conference Services Ltd., IAPCO Innovation Award;

Pieter Barend Francois Swart, managing director and founder of Conference Consultancy South Africa, PCMA Global Meetings Executive of the Year award;

Edward Liu, managing director of Conference & Exhibition Management Services, IAEE International Organiser Award;

Joost de Mayer, chairman and CEO of First Incentive Travel, Site Master Motivator Award;

Nabintu Petsana, head of tourism at Johannesburg Tourism, DMAI Destination Marketing Humanitarian Award